words

I was a jolly mess…

 

 

I carried books inside me

They protected me like weapons

 

 

 

against all the fake disgusting people of the world

 

 

A good book made me feel like I existed,

Made me feel safe,

 

like

nothing could hurt me

 

 

I was weird, abstract, and self absorbed

 

often, trapped in a senseless corner of my mind

weeks went by,

 

 

every hour I wasted in a classroom,

listening to professors,

I accumulated debt

 

 

 

I hated my courses, drank heavily, got mixed up

needed to escape

 

 

 

Chemicals worked temporarily,

but I hated the return to reality

 

 

so I cut my losses and left that place,

the institution could keep their fines and fees,

essays and fat textbooks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I would find another way

 

-park

Leave a Reply

