words

my hope, my hope for you

i hope
one day

you will realize
you were wrong.
because you were.

you were wrong.
But, i will never tell you
directly,
that you were.

because i hope,
one day
you will awaken and acknowledge,

that when you told me
the sunset is
boring

you
were
wrong,

and your words, in all their wrongness,
will forever change my feelings towards you.

And i hope,
that every sunset you have
the privilege of witnessing
will become less and less boring.
and that you might
find value in the natural world around you

than the superficial one you seem to enjoy.

I hope every sunset you have the privilege of witnessing
will become less and less boring because it only happens once
a day.
and that day might be cloudy.
and the next one is not guaranteed,

so for you to say
the sunset is boring,

hurt something deep inside of me.

and its sad
and its unfortunate
that you could not be awestruck
by the simple things i see.

but my hope for you is that,

you might think before you speak,
and listen before you reply.
because your words should always hold meaning.

And I…
should not have to
constantly remind you
why.
-park

Leave a Reply

